One of my more astute readers noted that I made a commitment in my first post to talk about the interview process but never followed through. Thanks for keeping it real Greg.

The interview process started with an email from the HR person at my new employer. She asked if I was still looking and would I be interested in an initial phone interview. I was and we set up a time to talk. When we got on the line she went through an introduction about the company and the IT group as well as a description of the position. Now, even though I was actively looking for a position and was very interested in what the corporate world would offer, I was still a bit hesitant to entertain a job outside consulting. What I liked most about consulting was being able to move about from company to company. When I wasn’t enjoying a project or the people, I knew it would end eventually and I would be able to move on to somewhere else. The questions were about my experience and my project management style. I got the feeling that they had one or more bad experiences with PMs whose style didn’t mesh with the rest of the group.

Well, I did the phone interview and based on the feedback I was receiving I perceived it went well. The HR person said that I should be hearing back to set up an in person interview with the team. I think everyone wants approval and, no matter if you want the job or not, you want to be asked back for the next step. For me, I was actually interested in the position after my initial interview and wanted to see what this place\job was really about.

I sent a follow up email thanking her for the interview, emphasizing positives about PM style and providing a couple of dates\times I was available for an interview. Couple of days later I got an email to set up the interviews. They would take place in one day and I was to meet with six managers and the HR person. I’ll talk about that in the next post (promise!)

