“Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana” – Groucho Marx

That sums things up, doesn’t it? Just a little time humor (I just can’t get enough of it.) I wanted to provide a short update on how things on the job front are looking. I’ve been at it for 7 full work days now. If you’ve been reading back from the start of this here blog, you’ll recall that I come from the consulting world. Now, I was never one to sit around with my feet up waxing poetic on my “60, 70 hour weeks.” I worked hard and was focused and stuck to a 40-50 hour week when possible – that whole family\work balance thingy. Bottom line is that I was busy those 40-50 hours.

Now, fast forward to a new job in the corporate world. I still have customers (that’s how I view the company’s businesses and the IT departments), I still have customer demands and I still have timelines. There are still politics and the waters are still sometimes rough to navigate (yeah I got all this in 7 days.) But so far, the difference has been the pace of work. Now, I’m attributing this to my newbie-ness. Looking out on the workload horizon I anticipate things to start picking up shortly. In the meantime, I’m currently managing two projects, I read a good deal of other’s blogs, caught up on what I need to do to maintain my PMP (didn’t know I had to do anything, but I do), and filled the gaps with other readings and perusings (not sure if that is a word – just ran spellcheck and it’s not.)

The team here is very smart and I’m enjoying the personal interactions. One of my concerns was the idea of driving to\from the same place each day. As a consultant I was somewhere new almost everyday. So far, so good. I think the sunny summer days keep the spirit lifted.

Final words on the subject: Things are going well. The people are good, the work is challenging, there’s free coffee\drinks, and I get home at a decent hour.

