For those who have worked with me in the past, they understanding my pasttime of reading business and motivational books – and sharing them! Now, this may be painful for others, but I certainly enjoy it. And you know what, at the end of the day that’s what matters.

Selfishness is not living as one wishes to live, it is asking others to live as one wishes to live.

– Oscar Wilde

Now that I have my very own blog, I have the opportunity to share my readings with a much broader audience (real or imagined.) So, I decided to start providing my thoughts on books I’ve read and found value in reading – and that starts right…now. The book of the day – Leadership and Self-Deception: Getting out of the box, by The Arbinger Institute.

Besides the fact that this book was written by an entire Institute, it presents a very revealing fact about leadership, no matter what title you hold. The book uses a storytelling format similar to Who Moved My Cheese? minus the rodents. We follow a new executive employee at the fictitious Zagrum Company as the shortcomings in how he leads and lives are revealed through his bosses personal revelations and the employee’s own self realizations.

Due to space, time and individual attention spans, I won’t provide a detailed review. I suggest you peruse Amazon and other book sites for additional insight on this book. What I will share with you is that this book impacted me more directly than any other business book I have read. The message I received was quite simple, it is not the tools and techniques we learn along the way that make us effective leaders and communicators, it is who we are and how we view others. You can put into practice all the leadership skills you can pull out of books and workshops, but if you don’t view those you are working with as people just like you and communicate with sincerity and trust, you will fail. The self-deception part comes in for those who don’t realize they are failing.

In summary, if you are looking for a manageable read that you will find real value in I highly recommend Leadership and Self-Deception – all selfishness aside.

